Fiddling around the Brain Song

So I finally got round to recording the song based on She’ll Be Coming Round the Mountain I wrote about Music and the Brain. I originally wrote this for the BIG Best Demo Competition 2014.

It’s a rough recording, but I had fun doing it, and definitely will be doing more combining the fiddle with science communication in the future!

The lyrics are as follows:

“I’ll be using my frontal cortex for this song,
When I decide to play a tune it won’t take long
To raise oxygen metabolic rates,
as the rest of brain it orchestrates
I’ll be using my frontal cortex for this song,

Singing my my frontal cortex
Connected white fibre bundles

Signals from my motor cortex move my hand,
Just across the scalp it lies like a head band.
to the right, the left brain beckons,
at 120 metres a second
Signals from my motor cortex move my hand,

Singing my my motor cortex
It’s the movement promoter.

Sound vibrations enter my ears from the side,
And that’s where the temporal cortex does abide
understanding words as well as chords,
triggering dopamine reward,
Sound vibrations enter my ears from the side,

Singing my my temporal cortex
It hears and smells in general,

Now I’ve reached the end of my ode to the brain,
I could go on as the scope of it’s insane
Yes, That pink goo’s to be admired, no wonder I’m so freaking tired,
Playing the fiddle fiddles all my brain

Singing Frontal Motor Temporal cortex
And the rest of the brain in general”

Leave a comment